Women Health



A hysterectomy is a major operation, which may be performed for several

reasons, some of which include :

  1. excessive or heavy bleeding
  2. fibroids (benign tumours of the uterus)
  3. severe endometriosis
  4. recurring pelvis or severe pain
  5. uterine prolapse
  6. cancer of the cervix, uterus or ovaries.  Surgery for cancer should only be performed by Certified Gynecology Oncologist.


There are 4 different ways a surgeon may perform a hysterectomy :

  1. Vaginal Hysterectomy
  2. Abdominal Hysterectomy
  3. Laparoscopic Hysterectomy
  4. Laparoscopic assisted vaginal Hysterectomy


The method that your surgeon chooses will usually depend on the reason for surgery.



There are 4 different types of Hysterectomy :

  1. Total Hysterectomy – removal of uterus & cervix
  2. Total Hysterectomy & Bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy – removal of utereus, cervix, ovaries & fallopian tubes.
  3. Radical Hysterectomy – removal of the uterus, cervix, part of the vagina, ovaries, fallopian tubes and lymph glands.
  4. Sub-total Hysterectomy, therefore regular pap smear are required.


Note : you will not have monthly periods again after a hysterectomy.